Merseyside’s best new stage and screen talent celebrated at Clapperboard Awards Ceremony

Stars of stage and screen celebrated Merseyside’s best new talent at the Clapperboard Awards Ceremony which celebrates the achievements of young creative talent from across Merseyside.

Liverpool actors Neil Fitzmaurice  and Jessica Forrest co-hosted the spectacular event.

Presenters and guests at the star studded ceremony who presented the young film-makers with their awards included Ricky Tomlinson, Tina Malone, Christine Tremarco, Kane Tomlinson Weaver and producer Nik Powell.

Young people between the ages of 7-26 were honoured at Liverpool’s Capstone Theatre, receiving their Clapperboard Awards specially made and sponsored by Panavision.  The young people from Greater Manchester and Merseyside respectively, made six short films exploring serious issues around identity, community, disability, finance and hate crime.

This year’s judging panel included award winning writer Frank Cottrell Boyce, acclaimed producer Nicola Shindler, actor Josh Bolt and BBC Researcher and ex Clapperboard Volunteer, Amy Campbell.

Co-Host Neil Fitzmaurice said “I’m delighted that the Clapperboard Awards has returned to Liverpool”.  It’s been a joy to co-host the event with actress Jessica Forrest.  The talent tonight has been a credit to us all”.

Ricky Tomlinson’ said: “I love coming to support Maureen Sinclair and this charity.  I’m amazed at the work these young people have done.  Each year the films get better and I can’t believe what they achieve with very little funding. They should all be very proud.”

Organiser Maureen Sinclair said: “It was a fantastic celebration. So many well known people have given up their time to be here this evening to support the young people’s creative achievements.  With the support of Liverpool Mayor Joe Anderson, the British Board of Film Classification and others, we have been able to showcase the creative work of young film-makers. The endorsements from such well know personalities who have given up their time this evening, allows us to promote the project to a much wider audience”.

Winners of the awards are:

Best Actress Emma McGhee

Presented by Ricky Tomlinson and Christine Tremarco

Best Young Presenter –  Kelsea Curran

Presented by actors Jazz Frankz and Connor Dempsy.

Best Music Video – We Are All The Same

Presented actors Kane Tomlinson and Tina Malone

Alison Steadman Award for Active Citizenship – Crosby Del Sol

Presented by actors Lauren McQueen and Paris Omar

Liverpool Echo Best Achievement Award – Christie Mac

Presented by Neil Fitzmaurice and journalists Jade Wright and Amy Campbell

Overall Winning Film – We Are People Too Ella Together/Halton Speak Out, Runcorn

Presented by actress Nicole Barber Lane and Producer Nik Powell.